Winter’s Morning Inspiration

As I lay in bed this morning with the pillow speaker under my pillow, I heard it was 18 degrees in NY and felt more like 10 degrees. Not good news to my ears. Got up, made my coffee, went downstairs to basement and put on heater and computer and here I am…writing what I feel. Have a good Friday everyone!  OH…I learned a new word this morning: “varve.” 

Winter’s Morning Inspiration by IleneOnWords

Some like the changing of the seasons

Yes, they do, for many varied reasons

Skating across a frozen lake

Or in the hearth a fire make

Building snowmen with their young

Tasting snowflakes on their tongue

 Bundling up in colorful scarves

Extra clothing warn like varves

Admiring lavish window displays

And decorated homes with lights ablaze

I would prefer just seasons of three

And banish winter for eternity

But alas, I will fight the good fight

Forge ahead in the snow no matter the height

Enjoy the heat the new oil burner brings

And listen to the songs my heart doth sings.

2 thoughts on “Winter’s Morning Inspiration

  1. I like the line “Enjoy the heat the new oil burner brings.” I used to live in Connecticut and the oil burner was an important item. I remember getting a new burner and the feeling of warmth that spread through the house. Nice poem

Leave a comment