My Dad the Writer…Who Knew?

“Good Evening My Gorgeous Lovely Darling Wife: I love you with all the love there is in my heart. I’m mad about you, crazy about you, can’t live without you, do anything in the world for you. Fight for you, die for you, beg for you, steal for you. I’d do anything in the world for you. All you have to do is ask.”-Sunday, Feb. 2nd, 1943 Written by My Dad to My Mom

I just took a lot of pictures from mom’s home because I’d like to sort through them. I discovered 2 rubber-banded packages of letters my dad wrote to mom in 1943 before they were married and as I peeked at 2 of the letters, the salutations were very romantic with “wife” as the last word of the salutation. I said to mom, “You and Dad were married in 1945, but in his 1943 letters, he calls you “wife.” Mom said, “That’s how your dad thought of me.”

I am asking my WordPress readers for advice on how to go about putting together a book of dad’s letters and photos. This will be a labor of love and it will entail many hours, days, week, months, so I know Step 1 is to get organized. After I’m organized, I’m thinking of getting a Duplex portable wifi scanner that will scan 2 sides.

For those of you who have done this sort of thing before or put together your own book with photos or letters, what advice would you give me? Which portable wifi scanners would you suggest?

NOTE:  I used to always be able to copy images from Google Image for my posts and now I can’t!!!  Anybody know why or have suggestions?????    In addition, the print is not coming out like it used to and I do not know why!!!!  Have things changed at WordPress????

9 thoughts on “My Dad the Writer…Who Knew?

  1. What a beautiful letter, that shows how deeply your Mum and Dad loved each other. I love your Mum’s calm response too. Your project will be a great testimonial to their love. Unfortunately I have no technical expertise to offer, but I will be cheering you on from the sidelines. 🙂

  2. I’ve put together photo albums, collages of photos. One thing for sure is that soon after you’re finished you’ll need to transfer to a new media and technology. Cherishing these memories is the main thing, which you do.

  3. Ilene, This sounds like a wonderful project, and I offer my full moral support, such as it is. Alas, I’m anything but a techie — I’m still struggling for a decent digital transfer of the family history casettes my grandmother dictated years ago. Might the WordPress forums offer some advice? I’ve not tried them as I always fear I’ll be too ignorant even to pose sensible questions. But good luck! – Linda

  4. Oh, how I wish I could find letters like that from my Dad to my Mom. What a treasure trove you have. Very sweet. I am the last to offer you organizing advice. I have photos from several years ago – before I went digital – that I still need to put in albums. And the letters I do have from my Mom and from my Dad are still bundled in my Hope Chest. Best wishes, Ilene.

    • Thanks so much, Judy! Haven’t done anything yet, waiting for motivation. Also, I don’t know why I haven’t felt motivated to do the blog!!!!! Hope all is well with you! -Ilene

Leave a Reply

