“Knowledge IS Power”-Malcolm X

   

Yesterday, when I heard that a NYC technology teacher in Flushing, Queens, told his students they couldn’t do reports on Malcolm X, it just reminded me that there are some teachers out there who do not do their HW; that do not know the whole story; that do not educate themselves. It was sad and reminded me of the time I wrote a play for my students that had a song about the release of Mandela from jail that exact month, February, 1990. I had some parents come over to me and say, “I heard this or I heard that about Mandela and I’m not sure the kids should be singing this.” I reassured them with knowledge. “Knowledge is power” as Malcolm said and the show went on. I hope those students and their parents, when they heard about the death of Mandela, remembered their moment on stage. On 2/11/90, Nelson Mandela walked out of prison and onto the world stage to change many lives for the better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

