“Write What You Know.”-Mark Twain

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”-William Wordsworth

You’ll notice that yesterday and today, I’ve just wanted to write simple poems…poems that come instantly, nothing profound. As a child, I wrote all the time; teachers loved displaying my poetry on the hallway and classroom bulletin boards; in school newsletters. Once my dad gave the Trinity Church in lower Manhattan my Laura Nyro-inspired poem, “Save the Children” and they printed it in their newsletter. (Laura’s great song, “Save the Country” had the line, “Save the Children.”) Today, before I rised, I just looked at my husband sleeping and I smiled. He’s just the nicest person I know and for over 30 years, he’s been my anchor in the most positive of ways!!!!

I wanted to just get up and write

Something meaningful; something deep

Instead I think of your eyes and how they pierce into me

I think of your gentleness and how it guides this family

I think of your steadfastness calming my nerves

I think of you…always you.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

