The Cold

“I am fascinated by language in daily life: the way it can evoke an emotion, a visual image, a complex idea, or a simple truth.”-Amy Tan

Here’s a little ditty I just composed:

You’ve got to be kidding, it’s 9 degrees!

Icicles are dangling from the trees.

The basement where I write has no heat

My first cup of coffee can’t be beat.

Thinking of what must be done today

Is a short list, but meant to keep things at bay

I’ll exercise, eat breakfast, get over to Mom’s

Do what I do which equals several balms:

A balm for the heart

A balm for the feet

A balm to maintain a steady beat.

A Parent, A Child, We do what we do

The season doesn’t matter for Me and You

Just this cold gets me rattled, but I’m grateful for so much

Like my Hubby, Children, Mom, Heat and such!

So, on with the day, forward in my path

No time to waste on Winter Wrath.

**There’s a great album my husband and I listen to, especially in the winter. It’s a compilation with John Gorka, Christine Lavin, Patty Larkin, Bill Morrissey and others, it’s called “On A Winter’s Night” and truly every song is a gem. Here’s John Gorka doing Bill Morrissey’s “She’s That Kind of Mystery.”

2 thoughts on “The Cold

Leave a Reply

