“That’s the Terrible Part. I Swear to God I’m a Madman.”-J.D. Salinger

 

J.D. Salinger was born on New Year’s Day the same year as my dearly beloved dad, 1919. Growing up, I read everything by Salinger and I know I loved his books then. Today, I haven’t a clue, I’d have to revisit him. Recently, when that new bio came out on him, Salinger by Shields and Salerno, I started it, but it was way too detailed and didn’t finish it. I’ll see their documentary on Salinger, which I just read is airing on PBS on January 21st.There was much I did know about him anyhow even if he was reported to be a recluse.  Anytime Joyce Maynard made a comment or wrote something on her relationship with him, I read it. Remember her?  “Joyce Maynard first came to national attention with the publication of her New York Times cover story, “An Eighteen Year Old Looks Back on Life”, in 1973, when she was a freshman at Yale.”Joyce Maynard.com

When I was in the 7th grade, I had a lovely English teacher from England and I mentioned that I read “Catcher in the Rye” and she felt it was inappropriate at my age. I couldn’t understand that and neither could my  mom. I’ll never forget that.

Salinger, himself, remains an intriguing character due to his own persona, something the public never got to know. His written characters remain with the reader 50 years after digesting his stories…I’ll never forget Holden and his sister, Phoebe or Franny and Zooey and the others. Why?

According to Shields and Salerno, unpublished writings of Salinger will come out beginning in 2015 and for several years afterwards.

When Salinger was approached by a reporter and asked why he hasn’t published, this is what he said: “He said, ‘I refuse to publish,'” Eppes , “‘There’s a marvelous peace in not publishing,’ he said. ‘There’s a stillness. When you publish, the world thinks you owe something. If you don’t publish, they don’t know what you’re doing. You can keep it for yourself.'”Bill Chappell, NPR, 8-2013

Opposite of Salinger’s demeanor, Country Joe McDonald was also born today in 1942. I saw him several times and loved his music.

He was way out there in the limelight protesting the Vietnam War.

He’s happily still performing!

HAPPY 2014 EVERYONE!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

