From My Home to Yours

We build too many walls and not enough bridges.”-Sir Isaac Newton

 Happy Holiday Season, Merry Christmas and Good Health are wished to All.

 

I woke up this morning…heard my husband sleeping while I had my pillow speaker connected to my radio on WBAI, 99.5, NYC and was delighted to hear a young Bob Dylan singing live in 1963, in the middle of the night in ‘Bai’s studio as a guest of Bob Fass on his radio show, Radio Unnameable. Dylan sang Mr. Tambourine Man. That was surely a gift!

According to several sources, Sir Isaac Newton was born today (I did see his birthday for the month of January, too) in 1642. “Sir Isaac Newton contributed significantly to the field of science over his lifetime. He invented calculus and provided a clear understanding of optics. But his most significant work had to do with forces, and specifically with the development of a universal law of gravity.”space.com

It’s cold here, about 20 degrees and the day awaits. So happy my hubby is home for the day and we’ll bring mom over to the house later for an early 3pm dinner. We have steamed lobsters in the fridge and clams, which we’ll bake. It will be a lovely dinner, just the 3 of us…daughter isn’t feeling well so will stay in the city…son is in Thailand, but we skyped yesterday.  Christmas isn’t really our holiday, but it’s such a beautiful time of year. Even growing up, I always loved the music and sang the music in glee clubs throughout my school career and my children also participated in the beauty of the holidays through their school choral groups and bands and orchestras. So, again, Merry Christmas and Peace On Earth for All!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “From My Home to Yours

    • Ha Ha…when I was at mom’s earlier, we decided too cold for her to go out. So I returned home, removed lobster from a tail and 2 claws and I made spaghetti with crushed garlic, olive oil and parsley and a salad. I packed everything and returned to mom and put in her fridge. Now I can go on treadmill, read, relax, my hubby can watch the Knicks and we’re not on anyone’s schedule. That is a gift!!!!!!!

  1. Happy holidays to you and your family. I didn’t know Bob Fass was still kicking it. I clicked on his blog (which doesn’t meet our high wordpress standards by the way). All the best!

  2. Ilene, I hope you’re having a wonderful day — apart from the cold you seem so fond of! But it’s a little cruel to tell me about lobster while I’m scrounging through my fridge and pantry, seeking adequate edibles until I can get out for groceries. Looks like … baked beans (canned), with mashed potatoes (real), and gravy (hybrid), so far … and stuff for green bean casserole for a pretend green veggie — okay, we’re good to go. We won’t be down to PB&J sandwiches for days yet!

    So all right, I’m exaggerating … slightly. Actually, it’s fine! At short notice, i have the week off (from caring for my mom and my aunt), and I love holidays I can spend in my jammies if I like. If that means we eat trail mix, then we eat trail mix. I get to be at home, and de-stress — now that’s a genuine holiday in my book. – Linda

    P.S. Isn’t the confusion with Newton’s birthday because they changed calendars during his lifetime?

    • Linda, are you located where I’ve seen on the news lots of snow and ice? I’m glad you have the week off and I know you will enjoy it. Stay safe, Stay warm! Yes, you’re right…calendars changed, so Newton’s bd changed.

      • Thanks Ilene. We’re fine — we’ve been lucky. Some snow, but no ice this time! Just car trouble, and quite a long cold walk to the store. It’s been more restful to see what my partner hasn’t devoured while I’ve been away! I just pretend I’m on one of those inane cooking shows, where they may give you watermelon, sardines, artichokes, and chocolate bars, then demand you concoct something yummy with them in twenty minutes or less. As long as the coffee holds out, no worries. – Linda

      • Linda, from whom did you inherit your wonderful sense of humor???? i think i’d melt some chocolate on the watermelon and stuff the artichokes with the sardines. Then maybe I’d throw up.

Leave a Reply

