“Hope is the Thing with Feathers”-Emily Dickinson

As I watched President Obama speak at Nelson Mandela’s memorial this morning, I continued to have hope for this world, for this President, for humanity. The snow is falling heavily on the East Coast right now so I was at my mom’s at 7am to put the garbage out in front of her home, make her fresh coffee (I told her to stay in bed, too early for her to start her day), take something out of the freezer for her dinner, put in the meat loaf meals and roasted chicken wing meals into her freezer, you get the picture. “Hope is the Thing with Feathers,” Emily Dickinson wrote. She was born today in Amherst in 1830 and that line is one of my all time fave lines. I remain hopeful, the alternative sucks and is too depressing. I hope all wars end. I hope poverty ends. I hope corrupt governments end. I hope poor education and inequality ends. I hope all forms of identity thefts, frauds and scams end. I hope all governments and nations and peoples can be friends and just democratic governments abound. There is so much to hope for. That hope that “perches in the soul gets me through each day as I worry about my 90-year old mom and her quality of life. It’s good right now at this moment, this minute, but I worry…Yesterday the doctor asked her if she wanted to go on meds for diabetes and also take a blood thinner….she said “no,” and I supported her decision. Food is comfort. I will continue to hope for all of us and for my mom as we all sometimes experience, “the chilliest land” and “the strangest sea.”

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on ““Hope is the Thing with Feathers”-Emily Dickinson

  1. I’m with you, Ilene. I figure, what have I got to lose, by being a fearless optimist? I can acknowledge what is going on in the world, but I don’t have to feed negativity into negativity, while maintaining a structure of hope.
    Cheers, to us who hold the dream. Hugs to you and your Mom. ~v

  2. While I don’t share your hope in the POTUS, I do have hope for humanity. I’ve never come across this poem, it’s really touching. Glad you shared this, Ilene.

  3. I agree, Ilene, there is so much to hope for. One of my self-help practices is singing a chant that I wrote. Here’s one verse: In this moment, with this breath, may I walk the path of hope, may my heart be whole.

Leave a Reply

