“Who Has Seen the Wind?”-Christina Rossetti

    

“My Heart is Like a Singing Bird.”-Christina Rossetti

Didn’t you just love that poem as a child?  I know I did and I shared it with hundreds of students throughout my career. It’s a great poem to memorize, learn English, visualize, act out, read aloud, use for choral speaking, illustrate…Uh-oh, there’s the teacher in me!  

Italian-British poet, Christina Rossetti was born today in 1830 in London. She came from such a creative family of artists, professors, writers, critics. Her poetry wasn’t limited to poems for children; she wrote about love, death, pain (she suffered from neuralgia and Graves Disease and died from breast cancer) and other topics. “Almost every poem leaves on the mind a sense of satisfaction, of rightness and fitness; we are not led to think of art, but we notice, almost unconsciously, the way in which every word fits into its place, as if it could not possibly have been used otherwise.”Arthur Symons

Her older brother, Dante Gabriel was an artist; her dad was a poet; her mom and sister were very religious and Christina joined them in their charity work, especially after her dearly beloved dad died.  “Christina’s works were largely forgotten, until their rediscovery in the late 20 th century. She is now lauded as one of the greatest poets of the Victorian age.”Literary Worlds: Illumination of the Mind

 

Remember by Christina Rossetti

 

Remember me when I am gone away,

Gone far away into the silent land;

When you can no more hold me by the hand,

Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay.

Remember me when no more day by day

You tell me of our future that you planned:

Only remember me; you understand

It will be late to counsel then or pray.

Yet if you should forget me for a while

And afterwards remember, do not grieve:

For if the darkness and corruption leave

A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,

Better by far you should forget and smile

Than that you should remember and be sad.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on ““Who Has Seen the Wind?”-Christina Rossetti

  1. I had either forgotten, or didn’t know, that “Who has seen the wind” was Christina – thanks for the reminder!

  2. Pingback: Clever Little Willie Wee By Christina Rossetti | Renard Moreau Presents

Leave a Reply

