“Something Told the Wild Geese” and Me!!!

Something told the wild geese

It was time to go,

Though the fields lay golden

Something whispered, “snow.”Rachel Field

The radio told ME this morning that it was 28 degrees in NY! I hate the cold!!!!   So here I am in my basement with the electric heater on. This is where I “work.”  It’s a lovely routine, I get up; Look outside, perhaps bring the daily paper inside; put the Keurig pod coffee maker on; Go downstairs and put the computer and now the heater on…Voila, my early morning!  Routines are nice,they keep you grounded and are comforting. ““The modern world is chaotic, and many things are beyond our control,” says Dr. Sian Rawkins, head of ambulatory psychiatry at Toronto’s Mount Sinai Hospital. Routines at home work to create a stable foundation that makes it easier to cope with an unpredictable world.”Kim Pittaway, Best Health Mag  At some point this morning, I’ll go shopping for things that both my household (Hubby and me) and my mom need and drive over to mom’s. She’s within 2 miles from my home, very convenient. At mom’s, another routine will commence as I make sure all is well with mom and her surroundings. I know I’ve remarked on this before, but elderly parents must be near their children, no doubt about it. I’m lucky that we were able to make this happen nearly 19 years ago on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day!  Mom’s going to be 90 in early December…so fortunate that she’s still with us, is ambulatory and has all of her marbles!!!!  

Today in 1965, the soundtrack from The Sound of Music movie with Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer hit #1 on the Billboard Charts. One song, Edelweiss, is similar to following a routine and the ease it can instill, with its lines: “Edelweiss, Edelweiss, Every morning you greet me.”Rodgers & Hammerstein

Well, every morning, I enjoy greeting my husband (who is still sound asleep upstairs since he’s on vacation this week); greeting the morning; the coffeemaker; the newspaper; the computer; my email…and starting the day. Each day may seem repetitious, but it’s never boring. “There IS comfort in routine.”-John Steinbeck

 

 

4 thoughts on ““Something Told the Wild Geese” and Me!!!

Leave a Reply

