Basketball Season

The invention of basketball was not an accident. It was developed to meet a need. Those boys simply would not play ‘Drop the Handkerchief.’-James Naismith

 Today in 1861, the creator of the sport of Basketball was born in Canada. James Naismith was a phys ed teacher and went onto become a doctor. While teaching phys ed at the Massachusetts YMCA, he was told to develop some indoor game that the kids could play during the cold Massachusetts winters. He thought and thought…gathered ideas from other games and voila, basketball was born as a sport in 1890.  His rules were less than 600 words; today they’re over 30,000 words. We’re Knicks fans in my home and they’re not starting the season off well.

“Be strong in body, clean in mind, lofty in ideals.”-James Naismith

5 thoughts on “Basketball Season

  1. I was a Knicks fan in the good ol’ days of Willis Reed , Dave De B, Clyde etc. Now I’m in L.A. and it’s the glorious Clippers for me. I played bball all my life, my younger life anyway. Basketball is a wonderful thing, So thanks for this blog. Hey, you may have a real good team in Brooklyn.

    • Hey Stephen…didn’t realize you live in LA now..thought still in Bronx!!! Wow! My husband is disgusted with the Knicks, they’re “lazy” he says. My daughter recently went to Walt Frazier’s restaurant in NYC and said it was very nice and delicious. My husband also played BB all his life, was on his college team as well…not tall, but very aggressive on the court. I’m not sure how the Brooklyn Nets are doing, but I heard the Barclay is a beautiful arena. Always good to hear from you!!!! Stay well…enjoy the Clippers…now I’ll think of you when I hear they’re playing!!! Go Clippers…Go Knicks!!!!

      On Wed, Nov 6, 2013 at 4:03 PM, Ilene On Words

  2. Pingback: The invention of basketball | On This Day

Leave a Reply

