LuLu and To Sir With Love

“Every teacher should have a fund of ready information on which to draw; he should keep that fund supplied regularly by new experiences, new thoughts and discoveries, by reading and moving around among people from whom he can acquire such things.”-Sidney Poitier as Mr. Thackeray in “To Sir With Love” written by E.R. Braithwaite

 My mom and I went to see “To Sir With Love” together in 1967, I was 14 years old and of course in love with Sidney Poitier…OMG, he was sooooo breathtakingly handsome! The theme song quickly became a favorite around the world and a fave of mine. Lulu, who sang the song, was born today the same year as my bro’ (May He Rest In Peace). HAPPY 65TH BIRTHDAY, LULU!

 For a bio on LuLu, who is still performing, click here.

 “The first time I heard you sing, Lulu, I knew we were born in the same pond.”

-James Brown

 LuLu AND the song…still great after all these years, please take a listen:

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “LuLu and To Sir With Love

  1. This song brought back wonderful memories. A few weeks ago, I bought the book, “To Sir With Love,” because of the impact the movie made on me. This is my tenth year teaching. I’d love to make the kind of impression on young minds as Sidney Poitier did in this movie and E. R. Braithwaite (who Poitier portrayed) did in real life.

    • I so agree with you. I retired from teaching K-5 five years ago. I’m sure when I saw the movie in 1967, it also inspired me to become a teacher…though I didn’t know it at the time…1967…lots going on!!!!!

  2. I love this song. About 20 years ago Soul Asylum was on Unplugged. Lulu came out and did a rendition of To Sir With Love with Soul Asylum that is simply amazing.

Leave a Reply

