NBA FINALISTS

“Writing is like getting married. One should never commit oneself until one is amazed at one’s luck.” – Iris Murdoch (Irish-born British Author)

Gotcha???   The National Book Awards (NBA) have announced their 5 finalists for Poetry for 2013. Did you know that William Carlos Williams was the very first poet to win this award in 1950. I used to love using his poetry in the classroom, especially his “This is Just to Say” and “The Red Wheelbarrow,” so seemingly simple poems, yet saying so much and the lesson plans and emotions that evolved….

To find out who the 5 finalists are for Poetry, click here.

The 2012 winner of the prestigious NBA award was American poet, David Ferry. Here is one of his poems:

SCRIM by David Ferry

 I sit here in a shelter behind the words  

Of what I’m writing, looking out as if  

Through a dim curtain of rain, that keeps me in here.  

 

The words are like a scrim upon a page,  

Obscuring what might be there beyond the scrim.  

I can dimly see there’s something or someone there.  

 

But I can’t tell if it’s God, or one of his angels,  

Or the past, or future, or who it is I love,  

My mother or father lost, or my lost sister,  

 

Or my wife lost when I was too late to get there,  

I only know that there’s something, or somebody, there.  

Tell me your name. How was it that I knew you?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “NBA FINALISTS

Leave a Reply

