“Glad All Over” –Dave Clark & Mike Smith

“At the height of their fame the Dave Clark Five rivaled The Beatles as Britain’s most popular band.”JJ Anisiobi, Daily Mail, 5/13

 On November 1st, 1964, The Dave Clark Five sang, “Glad All Over” on the Ed Sullivan show. When they made their first tour of the U.S., they came to Brooklyn! The group came to the Walker Theater on 18th Avenue in Brooklyn, NY, can you imagine? That was a favorite movie theater, huge, grand and next door was a delicious Chinese Restaurant where my family and I ate many a meal…usually on Sundays.  I must’ve been about 12 years old and saw them jump on stage after their film, “Catch Us If You Can.” Like everyone else, I wanted to see this British group as they left to board their bus, so there I was being literally stampeded on by the exit door. I was lucky I wasn’t hurt and it was an experience that I’ll never forget. I don’t think I felt, “Glad All Over” at that exact moment.

2 thoughts on ““Glad All Over” –Dave Clark & Mike Smith

Leave a Reply

