My Sunday Stroll Down Memory Lane

Over 40 years ago, while pursuing my MA in Educational Theatre at NYU, I had a wonderful professor, Robert Kimball, who was recognized as an authority on the American Musical Theatre and that’s the course I took with him. He was such a nice man; we met for coffee some times and he enjoyed my admiration for and knowledge of the Harlem Renaissance writers, entertainers, artists, thinkers and gifted me with his coffee-table book on the wonderful composers/pianists Noble Sissle and Eubie Blake, titled: Reminiscing with Sissle and Blake. I think it was his course that inspired me to learn all about the clubs in Harlem in the 1920s such as Connie’s Inn, of course the famed Cotton Club and Small’s Paradise, Savoy Ballroom…Today, Oct. 20th, is the birthday of 2 entertainers from that era, songstress, Adelaide Hall, (1901), originally a Brooklyn Gal and composer/pianist, Jelly Roll Morton (1890) of New Orleans.  There is still so much to learn about this era; the constituents of this era and their influences on and contributions to our American Culture and its global impact.

2 thoughts on “My Sunday Stroll Down Memory Lane

Leave a Reply

