“Do what you feel in your heart to be right – for you’ll be criticized anyway.”-Eleanor Roosevelt

Today, in 1884, in NYC, Former First Lady of both NYS and the U.S.A., Writer, Social Reformer, Activist, Radio Commentator, Lecturer, Author, Humanist, Eleanor Roosevelt was born. I know much is known about Eleanor, but it’s on a superficial level. She really did a lot behind the scenes and is definitely worth revisiting and getting to know better. She worked tirelessly and valiantly for Women’s Rights and put that same energy to fight against Racism and Lynching. Mrs. Roosevelt helped foster the National Youth Administration which gave our unemployed youth apprenticeships, scholarships, vocational training and important special projects, something we could use today, right? There is so much that Eleanor Roosevelt did that it is no wonder she is a “shero” to many, including Hillary Clinton. May more people visit their library or go online to learn all there is to know about this wonderful individual.

5 thoughts on ““Do what you feel in your heart to be right – for you’ll be criticized anyway.”-Eleanor Roosevelt

  1. Thanks Ilene, for featuring such an impressive woman today. Impressive, and surprising. I somehow thought of Eleanor Roosevelt as always so serious and dignified, so I love this quote I found from her –

    “I once had a rose named after me and I was very flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: no good in a bed, but fine up against a wall.”

    With my skewed sense of humor, I do hope she actually said it. – Linda

    • You made me laugh with “…just sayin'” I loved teaching my students current events and history along with ELA; it just came very naturally. Thanks so much, Jeff!!!! I love your “jeffster” awards and I visit each blogger you award!

Leave a Reply

