“You Can’t Go Home Again”-Thomas Wolfe

“All things on earth point home in old October; sailors to sea, travellers to walls and fences, hunters to field and hollow and the long voice of the hounds, the lover to the love he has forsaken.”

-Thomas Wolfe, Of Time and the River: A Legend of Man’s Hunger in His Youth

American author, Thomas Wolfe was born today in 1900 in North Carolina. The whole world is quite familiar with “You Can’t Go Home Again,” I think, possibly, more as a saying than as the title of his book published after his death in 1940. I remember reading some of his novels, including “Look Homeward Angel” as a teenager. As a teenager, I was also fascinated by his relationship with Aline Bernstein, a famous stage and costume designer and an older woman (by 19 years). “Aline Bernstein was the first woman designer to achieve professional recognition in the American theater.”jewishvirtuallibrary

I would recommend reading a good biography of Thomas Wolfe, he had a very interesting childhood.

2 thoughts on ““You Can’t Go Home Again”-Thomas Wolfe

  1. I love seeing post about Thomas Wolfe. I am Wolfe’s third cousin and my favorite story of the very few my father told me was when he graduated from college in the spring of 1938 and his older sister took him on a trip to NY where they visited with Tom at the Chelsea Hotel where he was living and working. I don’t think my father realized until much later what Tom’s impact on literature was or would be.

Leave a Reply

