A Man of Words: Poet, Writer, Songwriter

“Music is the Emotional Life of Most People.”-Leonard Cohen

A man great with words was born today and still going strong. I remember writing to Leonard Cohen as a very young teenager in the 60s. He wrote back from Greece on one of those Par Avion blue air mail letters that you write on and just fold and mail. (Does USPS produce those anymore?)  His message was written in a circle and said, Dear Ilene, I really don’t know where I’m going.” Unfortunately I don’t have that letter anymore, but I still remember it! Happy 79th BD, Leonard Cohen!!!!

10 thoughts on “A Man of Words: Poet, Writer, Songwriter

  1. I liked (and still do) a number of his songs. I remember that first album very well. I saw him perform when he first started out. His voice was never operatic. But it’s beautiful how far he;s gone with it. He has become masterful in what he does.

Leave a Reply

