Speaking of Emotions…

“Music is the Shorthand of Emotion”.-Leo Tolstoy

Today is the birthday of three very creative individuals: Leo Tolstoy (1828), Sonia Sanchez (1934) and Otis Redding (1941). Both were good with words!  It’s been quite a while since I’ve read Tolstoy, but I did enjoy his novels, War and Peace and Anna Karenina.   Sonia Sanchez is an American poet whose poetry I’ve always admired. She was the original “Def Poet” Mama and to hear her recite her words is always a treat.Otis Redding was also an excellent writer and wrote such hits as: Respect, I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (with Jerry Butler, another very good singer/songwriter), The Dock of the Bay (with Steve Cropper) and others.

“I cannot tell the truth about anything unless I confess being a student, growing and learning something new every day. The more I learn, the clearer my view of the world becomes.”-Sonia Sanchez

One thought on “Speaking of Emotions…

Leave a Reply

