REMEMBRANCE

“THERE ARE THOSE WHO ARE ALIVE YET WILL NEVER LIVE, THERE ARE THOSE WHO ARE DEAD YET WILL LIVE FOREVER, GREAT DEEDS INSPIRE AND ENCOURAGE THE LIVING.”

– Inscription on the grave of James Earl Chaney

This is a sad day in history; Anne Frank and her family were arrested in Amsterdam in 1944 and the bodies of slain Civil Rights workers Schwerner, Goodman and Chaney were discovered in Mississippi in 1964. All 4 represent “those who are dead yet will live forever.” Growing up I read everything I could get my hands on when it came to Anne Frank and Schwerner, Goodman and Chaney and all things, everything that had to do with Civil Rights.

“I looked out of the open window, over a large area of Amsterdam, over all the roofs and on to the horizon, which was such a pale blue that it was hard to see the dividing line. As long as this exists, I thought, and I may live to see it, thissunshine, these cloudless skies, while this lasts I cannot be unhappy.’ These words were written by Anne Frank in February of 1944 – a young girl’s description of life from an attic overlooking Amsterdam.”Linda M. Woolf

One book that really stands out in my memory is We Are Not Afraid by Seth Cagin published in 1988 about the Mississippi murders of these fine young Freedom Summer volunteers. I remember seeing and listening to Andrew Goodman’s mom, Carolyn at rallies, on ‘BAI (NYC Pacifica Station). Carolyn Goodman never gave up, she pursued justice for all 3 young men. “At the trial of Preacher Edgar Ray Killen Jr., the ringleader of the murders of Andrew Goodman, James Chaney and Michael Schwerner, Carolyn read the postcard her son wrote on June 21, 1964, the last day of his life.

Dear Mom and Dad,” it read, “I have arrived safely in Meridian, Miss. This is a wonderful town, and the weather is fine. I wish you were here. The people in this city are wonderful, and our reception was very good. All my love, Andy.”Andrew Goodman Foundation Site 

Today, August 4th, has a bright side to it as well, Louis Armstrong was born today in 1901 in New Orleans. I know I recently posted Louis singing “What a Wonderful World,” but I make no apologies for posting it again this morning while we all think about what we can do to better this world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “REMEMBRANCE

  1. Another fine post, thank you. I can understand cowardice and fear, only too well; I’ve allowed far too many things to keep me from doing what I knew to be right at different times in my life. But I’m not sure I do understand where people find such courage. I admire it, and I’m trying to at least fake it when I can’t do more. Seems as if I keep needing to re-learn even the simple lessons. So I’m trying to follow Mark Twain’s advice –

    “Always do right. This will gratify some people — and astonish the rest!”

    And sometimes it helps to think of this Eleanor Roosevelt observation –

    ” You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look
    fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the
    next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”

    If I live long enough, and work hard enough, maybe I can reach that point. About time I get around to growing up, anyway.

Leave a Reply

