“There Ain’t No Cure For the Summertime Blues!”-Eddie Cochran and Jerry Capehart

“Oh Lord, I got to raise a fuss, Lord I got to raise a holler About a workin’ all summer just to try to earn a dollar.”-Cochran & Capehart

What a great summer song. I remember the 1967 version by Blue Cheer and the July 11th, 1970 release by The Who. Summertime Blues was written by Rock ‘N Roller, Eddie Cochran and his manager,Jerry Capehart. Summertime Blues continues to make anyone who hears it, join in and sing.

Just an aside: the lyrics are still relevant today since there are still too few jobs for teenagers during their summer breaks. “Summer is around the corner, temperatures are heating up, and teens are getting ready for that quintessential rite of passage: the summer job. It used to be that teens could expect to find a summer job as quickly as pop-up summer showers appear in Florida. But times have changed. Now, the teen unemployment rate is at 24 percent, and as the country still struggles with a slow economic recovery, the ease with which teens used to be able to find seasonal work has all but evaporated.”-Emily Neill, The Boston Globe, 6/6/13

That is surely something to have the Summertime Blues about!

 Blue Cheer on American Bandstand, 1968:

 

The Who Live 1969

 

4 thoughts on ““There Ain’t No Cure For the Summertime Blues!”-Eddie Cochran and Jerry Capehart

  1. Ilene, I came over and checked out your blog after you stopped by me. Not only do we share some of the same reading tastes, but some of the same musical tastes. I have several versions of this song in my various libraries, digital, vinyl, and tapes. Your post on Arlo Guthrie brought back memories. I remember listening to him sing the Motorcycle song on our radio in Northern Alberta. I also have some of the songs his dad performed and watch his special on PBS whenever I can.

    I look forward to following your blog.

    Take care,

    Ivon

      • I missed that one. I will watch for it now that I know about it. I have seen the one where his days zig-zagging America are chronicled. I spend a lot of time in the Pacific Northwest so the part about the Columbia River project is interesting. I wonder if the two are not the same one.

Leave a Reply

