An Obscure Voice to Some: Fred Neil

Bob Dylan, Karen Dalton & Fred Neil, Café Wha? Greenwich Village 1961

‘I’m not the one to tell this world how to get along / I only know that peace will come when all hate is gone / I’ve been searching for the dolphins in the sea / And sometimes I wonder, do you ever think of me.’ — from ‘The Dolphins’-Fred Neil

We lost Fred Neil July 7th in 2001 at 65 years of age. He never was really famous. Songwriters/Musicians admired him and knew his beautiful talents. One song was a huge commercial success, Harry Nilsson’s cover of “Everybody’s Talkin” from the movie, “Midnight Cowboy” with Dustin Hoffman and Jon Voight. Great song, great movie. Fred Neil had a lovely voice, a pleasing voice and wrote beautiful songs recorded by many other artists. Toni Ruiz & Henry Llach wrote a great bio on Neil and mentions SO MANY of the 60s singers/musicians he came into contact with…everyone a gem in their own right, so be sure to read the article: Fred Neil: The Other Side Of Greenwich Village 60’s Folk Scene. Believe me, it’s worth reading!!!

5 thoughts on “An Obscure Voice to Some: Fred Neil

  1. The only reason I know Fred Neil’s name is from starting out playing guitar and trying to learn Everybody’s Talking and his name was always down as the writer but that’s all it ever was, so I’m glad I got this chance to put a face and voice to the name. He has got a lovely voice, sounds a little bit like Glen Campbell, I think. Thanks, I’m just off to play Everybody’s Talking on the guitar.

  2. Nice post. I’ve loved Fred Neil’s voice since I was 15, when for some reason the bland Cincinnati radio station my mother listened to played one of his songs. And then ‘Dolphins’ made me a fan for life.

    • Super! When I got my first transistor radio for my grade 6 graduation, there was an unbelievable radio station…wjrz and the disc jockey was Jerry White and he played all the folkies and this was 1963. I’ve tried finding out what happened to Jerry White, but have not been successful. He was ahead of his time.

      • Oh, I definitely hear you! I’m such a child of radio in many ways. Someday I should work up a proper hymn of thanks to all the wild and crazy radio folks who’ve exposed me to so much great music through the decades. I wonder if young people today will have comparable experiences? I delight in them, but Youtube videos don’t seem remotely the same, to me. But that may just be my age and prejudices making themselves obvious.

Leave a Reply

