“His music has got into my veins and I wish that everyone could be as drugged as I am with this particular non-chemical.”-The late Dudley Moore on the pianist, Erroll Garner

Erroll Garner, a name not heard of in too many years, was born today in 1921. My dad had his albums. Dad really knew his music and I inherited his love of music, all kinds of music. Erroll Garner was self- taught, played by ear since the age of 3 and was just a smooth Cat! “Garner sat down at the keyboard for the first time at age three at his family’s home in Pittsburgh and didn’t stop until his death fifty years later. During that half century he created, to appropriate the title of Magritte’s famous surrealist painting, an “empire of light.” (James Isaacs,Jazz Writer, Liner Notes for Garner’s Dancing on the Ceiling)   I would hope that everyone alive has heard his great composition, “Misty,” but there are so many other tunes out there one should listen to, though “Misty” continues to be beautiful! I’m lucky my husband and I were able to hold onto some of dad’s records and I know we have Erroll Garner!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““His music has got into my veins and I wish that everyone could be as drugged as I am with this particular non-chemical.”-The late Dudley Moore on the pianist, Erroll Garner

Leave a Reply

