“You Are Always in My Heart”-Ernesto Lecuona, Cuban Composer

“The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched, they must be felt with the heart.”-Helen Keller

My dad once made a 45rpm recording, while serving in the Army during WW II,that he sent to my mom of “Always in My Heart” and I remember listening to it as a child. Dad could carry a tune and had a nice voice, he even whistled beautifully. I thought of this act of love this morning since it would’ve been 69 years today that my mom and dad would’ve been married. Dad died in 1991 at the age of 71…too young, but he had a very serious heart condition for many, many years. Mom moved near me in 1995, which worked out very well and I retired in 2008, right on time, cause she needed me more and has ever since.

I learned this morning that the song was composed by a Cuban composer named Ernesto Lecuona, the composer of the famous Malaguena! “Ernesto Lecuona was the most important musician in Cuban musical life during the first half of the 20th century. Born in Guanabacoa, a suburb of Havana, in 1895, Lecuona first established himself as an outstanding pianist, graduating from the National Conservatory with the Gold Medal in performance at the age of seventeen. He went to New York City to concertize and there, in 1916, made his first public appearance outside of Havana. International success as a pianist occurred seven years later, once more in New York but, thanks to the huge success of pieces like Malaguena and Siboney, composition superceded pianism as Lecuona’s primary activity. Still, Lecuona continued to actively tour and perform widely as pianist and conductor for most of his life. Among Lecuona’s many achievements were the founding of the Havana Symphony (with Gonzalo Roig), the Lecuona Cuban BoysBand, and La Orquesta de La Habana. Lecuona, also, wrote a great deal of film music in the ’30s and ’40s for such major studios as MGM, 20th Century Fox and Warner Brothers; in 1942, he was nominated for an Academy Award.”(www.lecuona.com/bio.html)

I won’t be writing a daily post tomorrow morning because I’ll be at mom’s. She needs to have a procedure done and so I’ll be sleeping there tonight to help her prepare. For all of you that once had parents or still have parents, I know you can understand how hard it is to see your once-vibrant parent not who they used to be. Praying all goes well and mom will be none the worse for wear.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““You Are Always in My Heart”-Ernesto Lecuona, Cuban Composer

  1. All best with your mom. I spoke to my parents today and they are struggling with how long to stay in the house versus move to assisted living situation. Very difficult to see them fade.

    • Yes, it’s so hard seeing our parents age. Mom did well on her procedure today and hopefully meds will help flare up of colitis. Thank you so much for your very warm thoughts! Do your parents live nearby? It’s so important for elderly to live near their children, if possible.

Leave a Reply

