“I did take the blows [of life], but I took them with my chin up, in dignity, because I so profoundly love and respect humanity.”-Josephine Baker

I was always fascinated with the life of Josephine Baker; any book that was published about her, I was sure to read. I never did get to the NYC restaurant, Chez Josephine, in the Theater District,  opened up by one of her adopted sons, Jean –Claude Baker (she adopted many children and referred to them as her “Rainbow Tribe”). She really did want to make this world more tolerant and just and thought adopting children of different races and backgrounds was her contribution to this worthy cause. Josephine was loved in France and not as celebrated in the U.S. due to racism. Along with being an entertainer, Ms Baker also did underground work with the French Resistance during WWII. Josephine Baker was born June 3rd, 1906. Take out a book from the public library, her story is worth knowing!

4 thoughts on ““I did take the blows [of life], but I took them with my chin up, in dignity, because I so profoundly love and respect humanity.”-Josephine Baker

Leave a Reply

