On Caring for Our Elderly Parents

One person caring about another represents life’s greatestvalue.”-Jim Rohn

Watching our parents age can be quite difficult as their bodies take on new challenges that as a child, a mature child, an adult child with a family of one’s own, we have no control over. It’s sad. I am lucky that my 89 and a half year old mom lives nearby, less than 5 minutes away in her own home. She has no nurse, no companion, no one coming in to clean or prepare her meals. I am grateful to be in good health and able to address her needs, so far. If my mind wanders to “What if…” scenarios, then depression can easily set in and rearrange my gestalt. So…what to do? Put a smile on my face, put one foot in front of the other, take my morning walk, kiss my husband good morning and believe in the promise of a new day. This land of aging “was made for you and me.” Last night I watched the Woody Guthrie 100 Year Celebration at the Kennedy Center on PBS with so many great folksingers, my generation and younger, so, to lift my spirits and perhaps yours, here’s a great collection of folksingers singing “This Land is Your Land” with Ramblin’ Jack Eliot, Jackson Browne, Judy Collins, Nora Guthrie, Tom Morello ( a real activist that Woody would’ve been very proud of!) John Mellencamp, Ani DiFranco, Sweet Honey in the Rock and more: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

