“Never Be Afraid to Sit Awhile and Think.”-Lorraine Hansberry, American Playwright

For Societal Sunday, let’s think of: What can you and I do to help our country, our society, our neighborhood, our families?  We can take small steps to make a difference in the life of one person.  Last night, my husband, my daughter and her boyfriend, my son and his girlfriend and my mom got together to celebrate my daughter’s 30th birthday.  Mom so enjoyed being surrounded by her family and to see her enjoy her meal and her company at 89.5 years of age when most of her friends and her dearest loved ones have departed, heartened me and I’m sure heartened all of us assembled at this joyous occasion. I’m not taking any kudos for taking care of my mom, but I know I am making a difference in her life just as she did in mine (and myfamily’s) and continues to do so. We love her so very, very much. As Isit awhile and think,” what if more people tried very hard to keep their elderly out of nursing homes and assisted living facilities (if possible…I know it isn’t always possible), how would that affect the quality of life of their elderly? I can only speak from my experience, thus far…mom’s quality of life is so much better being extremely close to her daughter distance-wise (and emotionally)  and having the opportunity to interact everyday with her family. Right now, our situation is such, that mom can still live independently with us taking care of her and her needs everyday. If the situation changes, we’ll be there…we’ll always be there for this wonderful woman I am proud to call my mom! Being there does and will make all the difference in the world.

By the way, today is the birthday of playwright, Lorraine Hansberry who was born 5/19/1930. Her play, “A Raisin in the Sun,” which was also a great movie with Sidney Poitier (and has had other reincarnations) was a favorite movie of mine. She died too young from cancer, age 34, but left a body of work still relevant to the times we live in. “A Raisin in the Sun” relates the dreams of a family and was the first play by an African American playwright to be presented on Broadway in 1959. It opened with the lines from a well-known poem by the great Langston Hughes, “What happens to a dream deferred? Does it dry up like a raisin in the sun?  Lorraine Hansberry’s quote that titles this posting, “Never Be Afraid to Sit Awhile and Think,”  is a great way to start this Sunday…just thinking, reflecting…By assisting our elderly in any way that we can, we encourage them to use their minds and bodies and still have dreams and not give up or become “…like a raisin in the sun.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Never Be Afraid to Sit Awhile and Think.”-Lorraine Hansberry, American Playwright

Leave a Reply

