Bertrand Russell: Humanist, Pacificist, Mathematician, Logician, Philosopher…Born 5/18/1872

A Man of Peace

Three passions, simple but overwhelmingly strong have governed my life: the longing for love, the search for knowledge, and unbearable pity for the suffering of mankind.”-Bertrand Russell

I know, during my teen years and early 20s, I admired Bertrand Russell and read some of his works. I was 17 when he died in 1970 and as I’ve stated before, I’m sure I was introduced to him in my early teens by my mom who was an avid reader and also returned to college when I was about 6 to finish her BA degree, which took 10 years of night school. So…many things that mom read, I read, too. Also, I know that somewhere on my bookshelf is a Bertrand Russell book since both my husband and I both read him in college and on our own. In addition, the Anti -War Movement was very strong and Bertrand Russell was very much anti-war and his writings, interviews and lectures reflected his stance against the Vietnam War. He organized the private investigative International War Crimes Tribunal along with Jean-Paul Sartre and others in 1966.

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1950 was awarded to Bertrand Russell ‘in recognition of his varied and significant writings in which he champions humanitarian ideals and freedom of thought’”.-Nobelprize.org

 “Although born into one of Britain’s most distinguished aristocratic Whig families, he became a persistent advocate of social democracy and other progressive causes, such as women’s rights, peace among nations and a scientific approach to eradicate personal and public irrationality.”- http://www.humanities.mcmaster.ca/~bertrand/

2 thoughts on “Bertrand Russell: Humanist, Pacificist, Mathematician, Logician, Philosopher…Born 5/18/1872

  1. My husband’s Grandfather was at Cambridge with Bertrand Russell and they were quite close. From what I understand he was a brilliant character – through and through. The concept that comes to mind when one says ‘genius’… Wonderful post, Ilene!

Leave a Reply

