“A good song can only do good, and I am proud of the songs I have sung. I hope to be able to continue singing these songs for all who want to listen, Republicans, Democrats, and independents”-Pete Seeger

I just needed to do a 2nd Happy Birthday posting to Pete on his 94th year of life. My mom first introduced to me to Pete when I was very, very young, about 4 years old.  She bought an album of his songs for children and I played it nonstop, especially “Hey Jim Along, Jim Along Josie” on his American Folk Songs for Children released in 1953. It was his first full length album for children. How I wish I still had it to pass on to possible future grandchildren!  I’m 60 years old now and Pete has been a part of my life for most of my life!  His unwavering passions and commitments inspired me to pass along his legacy and his music to my own children and my students for 33 years. Pete knew the “Power of Song” and that’s what I tried to convey to every student who was in my classroom and numerous students who weren’t.

So, to my dear readers, here I am paying tribute to Pete in this brief YouTube:

10 thoughts on ““A good song can only do good, and I am proud of the songs I have sung. I hope to be able to continue singing these songs for all who want to listen, Republicans, Democrats, and independents”-Pete Seeger

    • Wow, what a fine post and tribute to a great man. I also wrote two letters of thanks to Pete. (never answered) – the only such fan letters I ever wrote. I thanked him mostly for opening up the doors to music for me, encouraging me to play, and for setting such a high standard for political action.

  1. Ilene…

    Thanks so much for alerting me to your blog on Pete Seeger. It has been my pleasure booking Pete for a radio interview, while I was a producer for a radio talk show a few years ago. I did remember his birthday was in early May and was just guessing that he was about 94 years young… somewhere in that age range the other day knowing it was early May sometime. I have enjoyed my conversations over the phone. I was part of Pete’s live on air radio interview as I was in the booth. I even sang along on air with him, chatted while on station breaks and then back on air.

    It was the best, most enjoyable experience and a fond memory that I will always treasure. I wrote him a letter as Pete doesn’t do email. He responded to my interview request on the letter I sent. Signed it “Ole Pete” and to give him a call. Today I have been listening to his music and enjoying this memory of a very special day again with joyful delight to have experienced. He was awesome! I still have the recording of the interview as well as well as the signed letter to give him a call. Thank You for also honoring this American Icon today on his 94th birthday. It has been a honor to have been live on radio with such a man who has contributed much to Our Country…Amazing Man!
    Susan Garren

Leave a Reply

