“Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.”-Anna Quindlen (How Reading Changed My Life)

              

I am so thankful for books on this Thankful Thursday…I can’t say it enough. As an avid reader from a very young age, reading has enabled me to travel the world; learn about other cultures; deepen my understanding of the human psyche; provided comfort and joy; provoked a myriad of feelings; kept me busy; took my mind off of other matters; and was always there…a constant in my life!  Both of my children always saw me reading and I, of course, always read to them and introduced them to the public library at a tender age; in fact my daughter, at 3, marched into the library and requested her own library card, signed her name and she was off into the larger world of books. I know we’ve all read that if children see their parents reading they’re more apt to read, but I don’t hold onto that maxim. While teaching, I introduced my students to many, many books and always read aloud to them and encouraged their families to visit the library and gave them directions on how to obtain a library card.

Yesterday, I read a book that, since I read it in a few hours, I couldn’t put down. It wasn’t the best book that I’ve read, but it held my interest: After Visiting Friends by Michael Hainey, a memoir and I do recommend it. The day before that I read Oleander Girl by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni…ok, not as good as her previous Sister of My Heart.  Today I’ll start Claire Messud’s The Woman Upstairs. In the house I have the fictionalized account of Zelda, Z by Theresa Fowler, but I read a few pages and will probably return it…I much prefer the real accounts I’ve read of Zelda Fitzgerald. So, do yourself a favor, visit the public library soon, pick up a book!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

