“How Many Times Must the Cannon Ball Fly, Before They’re Forever Banned?”-Bob Dylan

In 1961, I was 11 years old. There used to be a radio station, WJRZ with a DJ named Jerry White that played folk music and when I got my first small, carry-around transistor radio for my 6th grade graduation, that’s all I listened to. Jerry White played Dylan, Baez, Seeger…

So…in 1961, on April 11th, Bob Dylan opened up for John Lee Hooker at Gerde’s Folk City, which I went to many times when I got a bit older. It was Bob’s NYC debut!

He is the poet of my generation!

Some of my favorite songs of his include: I’ll Keep it with Mine (I love how Nico covered it!), Tangled Up in Blue, Just Like a Woman, Positively 4th Street, Like a Rollingstone, Bucket of Rain, A Hard Rains A Gonna Fall, Absolutely Sweet Marie…I could go on and on.

It’s cloudy today. Perhaps I’ll stay in and put on some Bob!

4 thoughts on ““How Many Times Must the Cannon Ball Fly, Before They’re Forever Banned?”-Bob Dylan

  1. I love your fave Dylan album and song. There are so many, Jeff, to choose from! Blood on the Tracks and Blonde on Blonde and Freewheeling, Highway 61….I don’t know if I can say an absolute fave, but Blood on the Tracks is up there!!!!!!!!

    • How did you get to this April, 2013 blog posting??? That’s amazing you’re Jerry White’s daughter. Isn’t it something that I still remember him after 47 years? Where did he go after WJRZ? I never was able to locate him on the radio. Thank you so much for contacting me! Did you grow up listening to a lot of great music? -Ilene

Leave a Reply

