“I Have Been Eating Poetry.”-Mark Strand

“Ink runs from the corners of my mouth

There is no happiness like mine.

I have been eating poetry.”

~Mark Strand, “Eating Poetry,” Reasons for Moving, 1968 

As a teacher, I can’t let National Poetry Month pass by without a nod to just a few lines from a few favorite poems

“Hope is the thing with feathers…That perches in the soul, And sings the tune–without the words, And never stops at all…”Emily Dickinson, “Hope”

“…and I am perpetually awaiting a rebirth of wonder. . .”Lawrence Ferlinghetti, “I Am Waiting”

“One could do worse than be a swinger of birches.”-Robert Frost, “Birches”

But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you, And loved the sorrows of your changing face;” William Butler Yeats, “When You Are Old”     

“Strange now to think of you, gone without corsets & eyes, while I walk on the sunny pavement of Greenwich Village.”Allen Ginsberg, “Kaddish Part I”

“Well, son, I’ll tell you: Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair. It’s had tacks in it, And splinters, And boards torn up, And places with no carpet on the floor –Bare. But all the time I’se been a-climbin’ on,”Langston Hughes, “Mother to Son”

“listen children…keep this in the place…you have for keeping…always…keep it all ways…

we have never hated black…listen…we have been ashamed…hopeless tired mad…but always

all ways…we loved us…we have always loved each other…children all ways…pass it on.”  –Lucille Clifton, “Listen Children”

“Your world is as big as you make it.”-Georgia Douglas Johnson, “Your World”

“For my people lending their strength to the years, to the     gone years and the now years and the maybe years,”Margaret Walker, “For My People”

 There are an endless amount of poems I could mention. Have fun clicking onto the poets or their poems above to read the entire texts.  Also, please enjoy the posters below! Happy National Poetry Month!

3 thoughts on ““I Have Been Eating Poetry.”-Mark Strand

  1. Pingback: Mark Strand’s Tunnel, Family Fun and My Injured Hamstring | The Dad Poet

Leave a Reply

