Are You “Waiting for a Rebirth of Wonder?” Celebrate Lawrence Ferlinghetti

“I am awaiting perpetually and forever a renaissance of wonder” -Ferlinghetti

 

Today is the birthday of one of my favorite poets, beat or any type, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, who IS 94 years old today; the same age my dad would’ve been!   Oh how I loved to recite Ferlinghetti’s poetry aloud, especially from his book A Coney Island of the Mind. The poem I would repeatedly recite is: I Am Waiting. If I ever traveled to California, I would’ve liked to have visited his famous landmark bookstore, City Lights in North Beach, (which  opened in 1953 and is still in business), where poets always gathered and I’m sure, still do.  

As an adolescent/teenager/young woman, I read all of the Beat poets/writers like Ginsberg, Corso ,  Kerouac, and knew everyone they hung out with; loved all things considered “beatnik” and wrote poetry since I was about 5 years old. I was fascinated with the Beat Generation. As I got older, that fascination with some of them wore off due to the lives that they led.   

I am so happy to celebrate and share with you Ferlinghetti’s birthday and poetry. Just found this site which celebrates Ferlinghetti’s birthday today which I am going to peruse: The Allen Ginsberg Project: Ferlinghetti’s 94th Birthday

Celebrating Truth to Power: Ferlinghetti stood his ground and challenged the powers that be when it came to publishing works of writers who many wanted censored.  Read this excellent article: The Poet Who Brought You Some Freedom of Speech by Matt Kohn of The Huffington Post.

“Poetry is the shadow cast by our streetlight imaginations.” -Ferlinghetti

Leave a Reply

