“Every Great Dream Begins With a Dreamer.” -Harriet Tubman

Today is Harriet Tubman Day!  March 10th, 2013 marks 100 years since Ms Tubman died. There will be celebrations around our country, but NYS has a very special tie with Harriet Tubman. Auburn, NY is where Harriet settled and lived for many years. We all know about Harriet’s bravery, fortitude, intelligence and courage escaping slavery and returning many times as an Underground Railroad Conductor to help free slaves, but Harriet was also such a good, good person who opened her home up in Auburn, NY to the aged and indigent.

For those of you with young children, grandchildren or if you’re teachers, there is one book I especially loved sharing with my young students including my students learning English as a 2nd language: An Apple for Harriet Tubman by Glennette Tilley Turner. There is a little-known event that is celebrated in this book that the author learned about through Tubman’s great-niece. It’s a must-book for every classroom.

2 thoughts on ““Every Great Dream Begins With a Dreamer.” -Harriet Tubman

  1. Sometimes when I go to peoples blogs I like to click on the random post link, because I know that usually it won’t give me a random post, it will give me something that I needed to read, as is the case again today. Thanks for this just after I mention “The Underground Railroad”.

Leave a Reply

