5 Reasons to Get a Good Book to Read for the Weekend and Happy March 1st

First of all, Happy 99th or 100th birthday to Ralph Ellison, noted American and African-american writer. Most sites list his year of birth as 1914. Did you read The Invisible Man in middle or high school? Many of the quotes from the book are still relevant in 2013 if your eyes are wide open to reality. For example: “I remember that I’m invisible and walk softly so as not awake the sleeping ones. Sometimes it is best not to awaken them; there are few things in the world as dangerous as sleepwalkers.”  How many men of color have felt that way as our country struggled to gain equal rights for all and continues that struggle in 2013? “Sleepwalkers,” ignorant people who refuse to believe that skin color, religion, native language, origin of birth and other differences we may have, are not to be disparaged, but celebrated and embraced and as citizens of the U.S., we are all entitled to being treated respectfully, humanely and fairly.

I also have book suggestions that are entertaining, such as Marlo Thomas’s memoir growing up with her dad, Danny Thomas.  I just loved “Make Room for Daddy” as a child on TV. This is a book that will have you laughing out loud, it’s a good “pick-me-up” book. I first picked up The Light Between Oceans from the shelf in my public library when it first came out and I have been recommending it to everyone and anyone I recommended it to has thanked me. It’s a beautiful story that I think would make a beautiful movie.  OH…great news!!!  As I am composing this post, I just discovered that it will be made into a movie!!!!!   Finally we come to The Heroe’s Walk which I must’ve read about 10 years ago and takes place in India and  The Book Thief set during WWII, which was also read years ago and is about 500 pages, which I know isn’t a lot, but as I get older, I like reading shorter books, so just letting you know. Plus…if you still read old-fashioned hard-covered books like I do, it may feel too heavy for you.  Sometimes our reading styles and how we choose our books change as we get older. 

Leave a Reply

